What does this mean? - The Wholesale Forums
 
 
 
Home  |  Register  |  Members  |  Calendar
Welcome to The Wholesale Forums! All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:32 AM.

Old 16-10-2007, 02:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
meandmeonly
Community Member
 
meandmeonly's Avatar
meandmeonly is offline

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: England
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Question What does this mean?

I tried to open a site up and the following came up can anyone explain to me what it means please?

Web Site Parking page
The domian you are trying to visit is not live at the moment.
If you are the domian owner, please contact the webmaster
Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2007, 03:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Boro97
Community Members
 
Boro97's Avatar
Boro97 is offline

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,350
iTrader: (4)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

It means the website is not active yet
__________________
Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2007, 04:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
meandmeonly
Community Member
 
meandmeonly's Avatar
meandmeonly is offline

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: England
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boro97 View Post
It means the website is not active yet
the thing is i looked at this site yesterday and all was fine but now this?
Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2007, 04:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Beneddie1112
Community Member
 
Beneddie1112's Avatar
Beneddie1112 is offline

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 2,002
iTrader: (2)
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 18 Times in 18 Posts

Default

Maybe it is just your computer?
__________________

Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2007, 05:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
anotheruser
Community Member
 
anotheruser is offline

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 975
iTrader: (1)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

I doubt it, Ben. That's called a splash page. It can come up as Boro97 says, before a site goes live, or when there's a fault on the server to prevent just garbage showing, or the hosting company can put it up to mask the actual site if the hosting rent hasn't been paid or there is some other dispute between site owner and host - plus probably a few other reasons that don't just spin off the top of my head.

The only time your own computer would show something it shouldn't would be the browser cache showing something out of date, not something new.

Try it again, memo, to see if it was just a short term server outage. They happen a lot more frequently than we think.
Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2007, 09:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
meandmeonly
Community Member
 
meandmeonly's Avatar
meandmeonly is offline

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: England
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Could some others try this for me please it's been on here before and a few have said that it is legit i wanted to check it out again but obviously couldn't
Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2007, 09:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
meandmeonly
Community Member
 
meandmeonly's Avatar
meandmeonly is offline

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: England
Posts: 68
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meandmeonly View Post
Could some others try this for me please it's been on here before and a few have said that it is legit i wanted to check it out again but obviously couldn't
Sorry forgot to put website
http://www.ebercarmon.co.uk/
Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2007, 12:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
anotheruser
Community Member
 
anotheruser is offline

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 975
iTrader: (1)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

OK, I got the same thing so I did a WHOIS search:
Quote:
Domain name:
ebercarmon.co.uk

Registrant:
Eber Carmon Group

Registrant type:
Unknown

Registrant's address:
No.7 Langley house
Worlds End, Beedon
Newbury
Berkshire
RG20 8SD
GB

Registrar:
Telivo Ltd [Tag = TELIVO]
URL: http://www.telivo.com

Relevant dates:
Registered on: 17-Jun-2006
Renewal date: 17-Jun-2008
Last updated: 13-Dec-2006

Registration status:
Registered until renewal date.

Name servers:
ns1.turbodns.co.uk
ns2.turbodns.co.uk

WHOIS lookup made at 00:21:28 17-Oct-2007
I know Telivo, who are their registrars. based in London's Docklands.

I don't know who Turbo DNS are, but you could look up Eber Carmon Group in Yell, and give them a call to see what's wrong with the site.

Yo could also see if they have a Companies House entry, even though there is no Ltd or PLC on the name.

<edit> mamo, just took a look at what looks to be that sites hosting provider - they look just about deadbeat. Too much downtime. I don't think it looks like Eber Carmon Group's fault. I'd try again to visit in a few hours. </edit>

Last edited by anotheruser; 17-10-2007 at 12:35 AM..
Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2007, 02:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
anotheruser
Community Member
 
anotheruser is offline

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 975
iTrader: (1)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Seems I was wrong about who's hosting them. It looks as though it's 20-20 Web Design http://www.20-20webdesign.co.uk/ There's a freephone number for them: 0800 0351129 where you could ask what's wrong with the site.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:32 AM.

Control Panel
Member Login:
Quick Navigation
Register
Forum Rules
Advertising Opportunities
Member of the Month
Top Contributors
Contact Us
Advertisement
Member of the Month
TWF - Member of the Month AwardDecember 2008
Costaconsoles
Popular Discussions
Recession, hard times?
Pound getting weaker
eBay suspensions galore?
Opening online store
Tips for new members
Useful Articles
Tips for Supplier Checking
Dealing with the Chinese
Sourcing Products Abroad
UK VAT and Import Duties
Approaching Wholesalers
Newsletters
TWF Newsletter - July 08
TWF Newsletter - June 08
TWF Newsletter - Nov 07
Archived Newsletters
Forum Guides
Leaving iTrader Feedback
Reporting a Post
Competitions
Business Article Writing 08
Fantasy Football 2008/9
Resources
The Wholesale Directory
Top  |  Profile  |  Calendar  |  Archive  |  Advertise  |  Contact
Our Network: Wholesale Forums  |  Wholesale Products and Suppliers Directory  |  Wholesale Business Blog and Resources  
Skin Designed by: vBulletinSkinz.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4 | Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Copyright © The Wholesale Forums 2004-2008, All Rights Reserved.