Suspicious Ebayer - The Wholesale Forums
 
 
 
Home  |  Register  |  Members  |  Calendar
Welcome to The Wholesale Forums! All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:24 AM.

Old 28-06-2007, 08:25 PM   1 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1
D M
Community Member
 
D M is offline

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,353
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 26 Times in 24 Posts

Default Suspicious Ebayer

I had a buyer, on his order form his postal address was:

1a ****** road
Leytonstone
Isles of Scilly
E*****, (LONDON POSTCODE)
United Kingdom

So I check at http://www.royalmail.com/portal/rm/postcodefinder and it comes up as a London Address, but without the Isles of Scilly (obviously).

His PayPal address is FLAT A (unconfirmed). I'm not usually bothered about unconfirmed addresses as I'm only selling £30 items.

I asked about his address, now he's saying he lives at FLAT B.

What is he up to? Could he say he never got it and when I show proof it would say I posted it to Isles of Scilly? Is this a common scam?

Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2007, 09:15 PM   #2
Anthony
Community Administrator
 
Anthony's Avatar
Anthony is offline

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 12,979
iTrader: (9)
Thanks: 84
Thanked: 427 Times in 297 Posts

Default

How are you intending to ship the item? What service?

Has he confirmed the address he wants the item shipped to? (The exact address so that you can cross reference whether it actually exists.)

__________________
User Agreement | Advertising Information | Frequently Asked Questions | Contacting Us

Please introduce yourself to the community if you haven't already.

For daily offers on wholesale stock please see our wholesale marketplace.
Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2007, 09:18 PM   #3
D M
Community Member
 
D M is offline

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,353
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 26 Times in 24 Posts

Default

RM Recorded.

Not Paypal confirmed address.

First he puts his address as Isles of Scilly, then he says he lives at flat B.

Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2007, 09:33 PM   #4
Anthony
Community Administrator
 
Anthony's Avatar
Anthony is offline

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 12,979
iTrader: (9)
Thanks: 84
Thanked: 427 Times in 297 Posts

Default

Well if he is claiming the Isles of Scilly are in London then that would be enough for me to pull the plug on the whole transaction. The guy sounds like trouble to me, it might be worth asking eBay through Live Help or pulling out of the transaction.

What's his feedback look like on eBay?

__________________
User Agreement | Advertising Information | Frequently Asked Questions | Contacting Us

Please introduce yourself to the community if you haven't already.

For daily offers on wholesale stock please see our wholesale marketplace.
Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2007, 10:14 PM   #5
JPB
Community Member
 
JPB's Avatar
JPB is offline

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,344
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 4 Times in 4 Posts

Default

Sounds very dodgy to me and could well be a hacked account etc,

Is he paypal verified ?

Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2007, 08:00 AM   #6
RWA
Community Member
 
RWA is offline

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,688
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 40
Thanked: 125 Times in 108 Posts

Default

Little geography lesson. The Isles of Scilly are no where near london, here is a map:

http://www.google.co.uk/maps?q=Isles...i=map&ct=title

Just zoom out and you will see.

Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2007, 09:47 AM   #7
D M
Community Member
 
D M is offline

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,353
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 26 Times in 24 Posts

Default

Little reading lesson.

Quote:
So I check at http://www.royalmail.com/portal/rm/postcodefinder and it comes up as a London Address, but without the Isles of Scilly (obviously).

Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2007, 10:10 AM   #8
Andy-Flashie
Community Member
 
Andy-Flashie is offline

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Birmingham, U.K
Posts: 118
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Just print out the email with him saying what address to post the item to, keep this with the postage receipt and you should have enough evidence that you did the right thing if he does play you about.

Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2007, 03:24 AM   #9
ragtime27
Community Member
 
ragtime27's Avatar
ragtime27 is offline

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 131
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

if you send it to a wrong address royal mail won't refund you beware.
make sure the flat number and postcode are correct.
check that through their website

Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2007, 12:13 AM   #10
Beneddie1112
Community Member
 
Beneddie1112's Avatar
Beneddie1112 is offline

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 2,667
iTrader: (5)
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 39 Times in 38 Posts

Default

Email him asking to confirm the address, save and print off all email contact and then if he does try to mess you around he hasn't got a leg to stand on.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.thewholesaleforums.co.uk/forum/ebay-and-online-auction-discussion/14463-suspicious-ebayer.html
Posted By For Type Date
dropshiping: Blogs, Photos, Videos and more on Technorati This thread Refback 02-07-2007 02:01 AM

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
would you be suspicious? akalee Supplier Discussion 3 17-06-2008 10:13 AM
Bogus ebayer? mattm2K7 eBay and Online Auction Discussion 12 11-01-2008 01:25 PM
suspicious potential customer?? Supremetronics Starting in Business and Trading Advice 10 08-07-2007 03:11 PM
suspicious ipod xbox 360 auctions trader7 Bad Supplier Experiences 2 26-05-2006 02:05 AM
Hi there - New ebayer bluesmint Introduce Yourself 8 14-03-2006 04:03 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:24 AM.

Control Panel
Member Login:
Quick Navigation
Register
Advertising
FAQs
Member of the Month
Top Contributors
User Agreement
Contact Us
Advertisement
Member of the Month
TWF - Member of the Month AwardNovember 2009
PCDropship
Popular Discussions
Long Working Hours?
eBay/PayPal Phone No's
Taxable Profits?
Startup Checklist?
Amazon the new eBay?
Useful Articles
Qualify China Suppliers
Dealing with the Chinese
Sourcing Products Abroad
UK VAT and Import Duties
Approaching Wholesalers
Newsletters
TWF Newsletter - July 08
TWF Newsletter - June 08
TWF Newsletter - Nov 07
Archived Newsletters
Forum Guides
Leaving iTrader Feedback
Reporting a Post
Competitions
Business Article Writing 08
Fantasy Football 2008/9
Resources
The Wholesale Directory
Top  |  Profile  |  Calendar  |  Archive  |  Advertise  |  Contact
Our Network: Wholesale Forums  |  Wholesale Products and Suppliers Directory  |  Wholesale Business Blog and Resources  
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4 | Copyright © 2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
© All Rights Reserved. The Wholesale Forums 2004-2009, All Rights Reserved.