Need help could this be a scam???? - The Wholesale Forums
 
 
 
Home  |  Register  |  Members  |  Calendar
Welcome to The Wholesale Forums! All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:01 PM.

The Wholesale Forums > Off Topic Discussion > Off Topic Chat » Need help could this be a scam????

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2009, 10:53 PM   #1
Prosperity Wholesale
Community Member
 
Prosperity Wholesale is offline

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 183
iTrader: (1)
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 4 Times in 4 Posts

Default Need help could this be a scam????

I am trying to help a friend.

My friends parents got a letter today from a solicitor ACS:LAW in london. The start of the letter says

We act as solicitors for Digiprotect Gesellschaft zum schutze digitale medien gmbh ("digiprotect"), a copyright protection society and exclusive licensee of right granted by digiprotect gesellschaft in a musial work sold under the name 'Scooter - jumping all over the world' ("the work"), which was released in the UK on oct 2008.

There is 5 full pages of pure rubbish and i think he could be a scam. The letter looks very unprofessional and it comes with a poor letter head.

At the end of the letter the so call solicitor wants £500 to cover all costs or my friends parents will have to go to court.

website of the company www.acs-law.org.uk

Hopefully somebody can help because my friends family were close to sending a cheque for £500.

Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 10:57 PM   #2
greedyboy
Community Advertiser
 
greedyboy's Avatar
greedyboy is online now

Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,868
iTrader: (33)
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 267 Times in 201 Posts

Default Re: Need help could this be a scam????

What has your friend supposedly done?

__________________
Follow GreedyBoy on Twitter here

Professional Full Colour Printing: 1000 A5 FULL COLOUR Leaflets only £49.99 Delivered
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 10:57 PM   #3
darren1979
Community Member
 
darren1979's Avatar
darren1979 is offline

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 974
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 67 Times in 62 Posts

Default Re: Need help could this be a scam????

Its proberly legit, but i wouldnt send any money.
Theres loads of reports of law firms trying to sue people for i.p rights, but they have to prove your friend downloaded it, which if they just produce the i.p address they will be laughed out of court.

Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 10:58 PM   #4
Ultravox
Community Member
 
Ultravox's Avatar
Ultravox is offline

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,413
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 189 Times in 181 Posts

Default Re: Need help could this be a scam????

Doesn't sound right.
Contact http://www.sra.org.uk/consumers/consumers.page
They are the Regulation authority and they should be able to help you.

Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 11:18 PM   #5
Prosperity Wholesale
Community Member
 
Prosperity Wholesale is offline

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 183
iTrader: (1)
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 4 Times in 4 Posts

Default Re: Need help could this be a scam????

Quote:
Originally Posted by greedyboy View Post
What has your friend supposedly done?
Download music

Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 11:59 PM   #6
canada
Community Moderator
 
canada's Avatar
canada is offline

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 5,600
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 122
Thanked: 189 Times in 180 Posts

Default Re: Need help could this be a scam????

The website ww.acs-law.org.uk looks to be a Scam.

Whois information http://whois.domaintools.com/acs-law.org.uk

Scott

__________________
Sign up to sell on the forum HERE!
http://www.thewholesaleforums.co.uk/forum/advertise.php

Please Read the Forum Rules!
http://www.thewholesaleforums.co.uk/...orum-rules.php

Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 12:02 AM   #7
canada
Community Moderator
 
canada's Avatar
canada is offline

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 5,600
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 122
Thanked: 189 Times in 180 Posts

Default Re: Need help could this be a scam????

There's no listing for ACS Law in the UK yellow pages.

Scott

__________________
Sign up to sell on the forum HERE!
http://www.thewholesaleforums.co.uk/forum/advertise.php

Please Read the Forum Rules!
http://www.thewholesaleforums.co.uk/...orum-rules.php

Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 12:12 AM   #8
londonking
Community Advertiser
 
londonking's Avatar
londonking is online now

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 930
iTrader: (17)
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 49 Times in 47 Posts

Default Re: Need help could this be a scam????

i got a letter similar from a law firm in london about an image on one of my website was supposedly owned by getty images. It was basically a fine.

I argued with them and they would not give up. in the end because they did not fully disclose their vat number, registration number on their official document the letter was deemed worthless.

Now I now why you should always have a good lawyer in your hands.

Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 12:21 AM   #9
canada
Community Moderator
 
canada's Avatar
canada is offline

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 5,600
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 122
Thanked: 189 Times in 180 Posts

Default Re: Need help could this be a scam????

I found more information on ACS:LAW

http://www.hellmail.co.uk/postalnews...1521&zoneid=14

Scott

__________________
Sign up to sell on the forum HERE!
http://www.thewholesaleforums.co.uk/forum/advertise.php

Please Read the Forum Rules!
http://www.thewholesaleforums.co.uk/...orum-rules.php

Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 12:28 AM   #10
PCDropship
Member of the Month
 
PCDropship's Avatar
PCDropship is offline

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 762
iTrader: (5)
Thanks: 45
Thanked: 75 Times in 66 Posts

Default Re: Need help could this be a scam????

ACS-LAW is very real and not a scammer.

I would search the net for a disclaimer form and fill it in and send it back DO NOT IGNORE THEM.

They are real enough to get a Norwich Pharmacal order through the court to get your address from the ip address and broadband company.

There is much speculation about these threats over illegal downloads mainly in what to do.

Apparently if you pay the fine you admit guilt and leave yourself to further penalties if they find more files that you have down loaded.

Allot of people seem to have success with the disclaimer form being filled and returned as the solicitors involved only want £500 not a court case.

You could go to court but if you lose you will be allot more worse off than £500

__________________
Reliable Computer Dropshipper www.pcdropship.com
Windows 7 Software And Netbooks Now Available
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wholesale Scam Sites Matti General Wholesale Discussion 18 24-10-2009 11:05 AM
Who work with this compnay misiek8384 Supplier Discussion 16 25-05-2009 12:21 PM
Postings asking if a website is a scam or not sabrads Support and Feedback 8 29-05-2008 12:27 PM
MSN conversation with chinese scammer! mattm2K7 Bad Supplier Experiences 3 05-12-2007 10:54 AM
Credit card SCAM double_d77 Payment and Shipping Discussion 13 27-07-2007 03:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:01 PM.

Control Panel
Member Login:
Quick Navigation
Register
Advertising
FAQs
Member of the Month
Top Contributors
User Agreement
Contact Us
Advertisement
Member of the Month
TWF - Member of the Month AwardNovember 2009
PCDropship
Popular Discussions
Long Working Hours?
eBay/PayPal Phone No's
Taxable Profits?
Startup Checklist?
Amazon the new eBay?
Useful Articles
Qualify China Suppliers
Dealing with the Chinese
Sourcing Products Abroad
UK VAT and Import Duties
Approaching Wholesalers
Newsletters
TWF Newsletter - July 08
TWF Newsletter - June 08
TWF Newsletter - Nov 07
Archived Newsletters
Forum Guides
Leaving iTrader Feedback
Reporting a Post
Competitions
Business Article Writing 08
Fantasy Football 2008/9
Resources
The Wholesale Directory
Top  |  Profile  |  Calendar  |  Archive  |  Advertise  |  Contact
Our Network: Wholesale Forums  |  Wholesale Products and Suppliers Directory  |  Wholesale Business Blog and Resources  
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4 | Copyright © 2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
© All Rights Reserved. The Wholesale Forums 2004-2009, All Rights Reserved.