Welcome to The Wholesale Forums!
: :


help needed.. Now today i recieve an email?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes



Posts: 47
Offline

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: uk
Feedback: (0)
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Ok so heres the drill......
I started just over two years ago selling on ebay mainly in cosmetics, now finding profit and ability I set up a website which is going from strengh to strength. Now today i recieve an email from some sort of asian company....

Quote:
Dear CEO & Manager,

We are a domain name registration and dispute organization in Asia. which mainly deal with the global companies' domain name registration and internet Intellectual property right protection in Asia.Currently, we have a pretty important issue needing to confirm with your company.

On Oct 23,2009, we received an application formally.One company named "Bosch Leighton Holdings Limited" wanted to applied for the Internet keyword "********" and some domain names through our body.
These days we are dealing with it. After our initial investigation, we found that these domain names and Internet keyword applied for registration are as same as your company's name. We hope to get the confirmation of your company because that may affect to your intellectual property on internet. I wonder whether you consigned Bosch Leighton company to register these domain names and Internet keyword through us? If yes, we will complete the registration on these domain names and Internet keyword . Or you do not even know this company what so ever? Now we haven't finished the registration of Bosch Leighton company yet, and we have postponed this application of this company temporarily already. In order to deal with this issue better, please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.

Best regards,
Your's,

Tom Bruns
Auditing Department
Tel: +00852-81359178( Direct )
Fax: +00852-81359278
Email:
Tom@apns.hk




So i would like to know is this something to worry about? Do i need to reply to this email? Is this legit or a scam?

Any help would be great!?!?!? and as quick as anyone could so i can reply or ignore.

#1  
Reply With Quote Old 26-10-2009, 03:40 PM



Posts: 961
Offline

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: uk
Feedback: (10)
Thanked: 106 Times in 90 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by matchett64 View Post
Ok so heres the drill......
I started just over two years ago selling on ebay mainly in cosmetics, now finding profit and ability I set up a website which is going from strengh to strength. Now today i recieve an email from some sort of asian company....



So i would like to know is this something to worry about? Do i need to reply to this email? Is this legit or a scam?

Any help would be great!?!?!? and as quick as anyone could so i can reply or ignore.
Scam everyone is getting them so i would not worry. If you search the net you will find aload of posts about this on diffrent forums.

Just delete it and dont worry about it.
__________________
Reliable Computer Dropshipper www.pcdropship.com
Windows 7 Software And Netbooks Now Available
#2  
Reply With Quote Old 26-10-2009, 03:52 PM



Posts: 292
Offline

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: uk
Feedback: (0)
Thanked: 18 Times in 16 Posts
As above, total rubbish! Scam!
#3  
Reply With Quote Old 26-10-2009, 04:00 PM



Posts: 1,206
Offline

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Feedback: (1)
Thanked: 90 Times in 71 Posts
As above! Don't worry.
#4  
Reply With Quote Old 26-10-2009, 04:01 PM



Posts: 51
Offline

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Feedback: (1)
Thanked: 2 Times in 2 Posts
The email is very confusing, and I didn't know what an internet keyword is until I read your post. It seems its a chinese initiative - see http://www.quickonlinetips.com/archi...rnet-keywords/. Have you registered any internet keywords? (I'm guessing not.)

The sentence that concerns me is the one about affecting your intellectual property rights on the internet. Although no money is mentioned, I wonder what would happen if you replied that you had no connection to the Bosch company? Would they then ask for some money to register "your" internet keywords and keep them safe?

My personal view (and this is all it is - please don't mistake it for advice, because I'm NOT a lawyer), is that if I were in this position, nothing would happen if I did nothing. My domain would be with a UK DNR and hosted in the UK and internet keywords are a chinese thing.

Simon
#5  
Reply With Quote Old 26-10-2009, 04:02 PM



Posts: 47
Offline

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: uk
Feedback: (0)
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks guys set my mind at rest!
#6  
Reply With Quote Old 26-10-2009, 08:53 PM



Posts: 11
Offline

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK
Feedback: (0)
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts
Erm, as a computer guy doing stuff on the Internet every day I can tell you that it isn't possible to register keywords and once a domain is registered no-one else can use it. You would have to fail to renew the domain name to lose it.

If you do have a domain name then don't get caught out by the common practice by the likes of certain top-level domain name management companies of sending an invoice hoping you'll just pay up - it's usually loads cheaper to renew with whoever you got it from in the first place i.e. ukreg or your ISP.

I'm not aware of anything you can put on (or take off) the Internet that would affect your intellectual property rights, that still needs a trip to the legal eagles (take plenty of money!).
#7  
Reply With Quote Old 29-10-2009, 12:11 PM



Posts: 11
Offline

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Feedback: (0)
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hi there,

Sounds like a scam. Ignore !
#8  
Reply With Quote Old 29-10-2009, 12:36 PM



Posts: 121
Offline

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Feedback: (1)
Thanked: 9 Times in 6 Posts
Yeah as above, I work in IT and we get them.
If you are ever worried just contact your domain hosting company.

Guys - just so you know I had and unauthorised $25 taken from my Paypal acct recently. The requester was from skype.net, Paypal refunded the payment but after a google search found its a known scam.
So just be on your toes
#9  
Reply With Quote Old 29-10-2009, 12:53 PM
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ghostrocket For This Useful Post:
BondyUK (02-11-2009), IAN C (29-10-2009)



Posts: 11
Offline

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Feedback: (0)
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hi ghostrocket,

Thanks for the heads up on that scam I'll keep an eye on ma account

Ian C
#10  
Reply With Quote Old 29-10-2009, 01:04 PM

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Email address Jazzy123 Support and Feedback 14 21-05-2009 07:54 PM
Setting up an email address pretending to be me... uhafmail Lounge 12 18-05-2009 08:42 PM
All my secrets... well - some of them :) markbyrne E-Commerce Development, Hosting Services and Website Design 4 24-11-2008 05:00 PM
5K Nokia 8800 (needed today) bizaustin The Wanted Section 3 22-01-2006 10:30 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:25 AM. Fixed Width