04-10-2007, 06:05 AM
|
#11 (permalink)
|
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 4,159
iTrader: ( 0)
Thanks: 45
Thanked: 36 Times in 35 Posts
|
|
The factory has no legal authority to sell the brand"Abercrombie & Fitch",there under exclusive contract to the brand owner.
This thread will explain the legal liability buying direct from the factories.
Factory Stores - Fakes or Authentics?
Scott
|
|
|
|
04-10-2007, 06:11 AM
|
#12 (permalink)
|
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 29
iTrader: ( 0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Yes I understand that this is a legal "gray" area as I stated in my previous post and I fully understand your logic. However I think that it is a better term to call my products "Un-Authorized" instead of calling them fakes since they are made by the same factories that make them for the brands.
I just believe that it is up to the factories who are under contract to decide who to sell to, not for me to decide. If they are caught breaking their contract terms then they should have their contract revoked, that is only fair. But in the mean time I will continue selling my authentic "Un-Authorized" clothing.
|
|
|
|
05-10-2007, 04:30 AM
|
#13 (permalink)
|
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 26
iTrader: ( 0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Whois info for The PoloDealer.com
Domain name only registered for one year.
Makes you think
Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. ( http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: THEPOLODEALER.COM
Created on: 05-Aug-07
Expires on: 05-Aug-08
Last Updated on: 05-Aug-07
Administrative Contact:
Private, Registration THEPOLODEALER.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599 Fax -- (480) 624-2599
Technical Contact:
Private, Registration THEPOLODEALER.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599 Fax -- (480) 624-2599
Domain servers in listed order:
NS611.HOSTGATOR.COM
NS612.HOSTGATOR.COM
Last edited by Ruskie : 05-10-2007 at 04:33 AM.
Reason: error in posting
|
|
|
|
05-10-2007, 04:32 AM
|
#14 (permalink)
|
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 29
iTrader: ( 0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Yea, the domainsbyproxy thing came free with the domain, why not use it. All of my customers have my full contact info upon request and could call me or visit me if they needed to do so.
And because I didn't register the domain for more than a year I am only going to be in business for a year? Theres this new thing man, its called renewable domains, use your head dude. Trust me, if business continues increasing like it is, ill be in this business forever.
Last edited by thepolodealer : 05-10-2007 at 04:35 AM.
|
|
|
|
05-10-2007, 11:13 AM
|
#15 (permalink)
|
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,844
iTrader: ( 15)
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 93 Times in 72 Posts
|
|
Most of this so called 'major brand' OEM/Overstock/grey market stuff does not originate from the actual A&F/brand contracted factories. Depending on the brand owners policy, the majority of overstock is destroyed or sold discounted through official domestic distribution channels (not from their overseas factory).
The last thing any brand wants is their product flooding the market at a cheap price.
Look at it logically, there is probably more current season stock in the surplus/grey market channels than the brand actually has sitting in their official stores, official distribution channels and warehouses!
99% of the time 'OEM/Overstock/grey market' or however you want to refer to it as is just a smoke screen to peddle fake clothes.
You can buy for instance 25 A&F 'grey market' polos for say $13 each. The exact same price as a blatantly advertised counterfeit Indian/Chinese version. Common sense dictates that a counterfeit should sell for at least half the genuine price. Go figure!
Finally these sellers (from ebay sellers to 'overstock' wholesalers) of 'major brand' OEM/Overstock/grey market items know deep down the stock is dubious (fakes!) to say the least. However they feel comfortable selling it as they tell themselves it is 'overstocks'.
__________________
Didley Squat now in stock. Going to be a FAST mover!
Last edited by greedyboy : 05-10-2007 at 11:39 AM.
|
|
|
|
15-10-2007, 10:58 AM
|
#16 (permalink)
|
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,844
iTrader: ( 15)
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 93 Times in 72 Posts
|
|
I am very surprised no A&F sellers have commented?
__________________
Didley Squat now in stock. Going to be a FAST mover!
|
|
|
|
15-10-2007, 11:05 AM
|
#17 (permalink)
|
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 975
iTrader: ( 1)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
I'm not. The domain thing is irrelevant. But you've made some very salient points, 'Arfur. It's difficult for them to come back with any credibility.
|
|
|
|
17-10-2007, 08:20 PM
|
#18 (permalink)
|
Join Date: May 2007
Location: england
Posts: 300
iTrader: ( 0)
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 2 Times in 2 Posts
|
|
ok guys i've been following this one closely and i want to pitch this one to you,after all the debate about OEM/overstock etc. being fake how is it that ppl who advertise these wares freely on here (and i have purchased from them myself after research through these forums) are so highly respected by the ppl in this community? and not derided or berated for selling OEM/overstock/grey area products or "fakes" as ppl label them.I always thought that these forums didnt condone the selling of fake items?
just a thought ive been wrestling with!!
|
|
|
|
17-10-2007, 09:30 PM
|
#19 (permalink)
|
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 3,844
iTrader: ( 15)
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 93 Times in 72 Posts
|
|
I am aware of one member on here who has very suspect 'overstock' but they are not a registered seller. As far as registered sellers here, I am in no doubt their stock is genuine.
There is official 'clearance' stock from major brands but there are some lables/brands you know straight away they are 99% fake dressed up as overstock/oem or whatever they want to call it. Hence you do not see these brands advertised on the forum or if you do it is in very limited numbers .
__________________
Didley Squat now in stock. Going to be a FAST mover!
|
|
|
|
18-10-2007, 03:08 PM
|
#20 (permalink)
|
Join Date: May 2007
Location: england
Posts: 300
iTrader: ( 0)
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 2 Times in 2 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
As far as registered sellers here, I am in no doubt their stock is genuine.
|
-thats cleared that one up,thats all i needed to know unless somebody else has an opinion on forum registered sellers?
So basically until the likes of "thepolodealer" become registered as a forum seller,no one can be 100% sure of his wares? is that what it boils down to?
|
|
|
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:38 AM.
|
|