Globalgamestore.com, Jakarta Indonesia - The Wholesale Forums
 
 
 
Home  |  Register  |  Members  |  Calendar
Welcome to the The Wholesale Forums. All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:17 AM.

The Wholesale Forums > Wholesale Business Discussion > Supplier Discussion » Globalgamestore.com, Jakarta Indonesia

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2007, 11:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
joeseph0609
Member
 
joeseph0609 is offline

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Smile Globalgamestore.com, Jakarta Indonesia

Hiya! First time posting on this FAB site! Glad I found it!

We are a group of single mums and looking for Christmas pressies for the kids! Shopping around for the best deals - like you do! I found a website www.globalgamestore.com that sell games consoles such as Nintendo Wiis & Ps3's - which our kids want! However, you need to buy in bulk. Which is not a problem as it's nearly christmas and we can get a few of us together!

However, I am a little concerned in that you have to send money by wiretransfer and not credit card therefore do not have any insurance should goods ""go a stray". I've e:mailed them to ask if we can pay by CC and they've replied saying no because they've incurred losses through CC fraud. And only accept CC for local orders not International orders. They've given me their bank details.

I would be very grateful if anyone has any information about globalgamestore.com, if anyone has dealt with them sucessfully before, if anyone has had fingers burnt or if goods were substandard!

Their website looks legit, but you just can't be too careful can you?

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kindest regards
Kirsty
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 11:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Phil1973
Community Member
 
Phil1973 is offline

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Hi,

There has been a small discussion on these before.
From the replies it appears to be a scam.
If you take a look in the For Sale section,some of the products your are looking for are listed there.
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
jas_j_w@yahoo.c
Community Member
 
jas_j_w@yahoo.c is offline

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK, England
Posts: 27
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

thats gota be a scam
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 03:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
jas_j_w@yahoo.c
Community Member
 
jas_j_w@yahoo.c is offline

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK, England
Posts: 27
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

they only accept bank transfer so it is defo a scam


oh its based in asia, 95% of them are scammers
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 03:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Beneddie1112
Community Member
 
Beneddie1112's Avatar
Beneddie1112 is offline

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 1,982
iTrader: (2)
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 17 Times in 17 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jas_j_w@yahoo.c View Post
they only accept bank transfer so it is defo a scam


oh its based in asia, 95% of them are scammers

Neither of those comments are true, simply because a supplier accepts just bank transfer does not mean they are a scam, this is a common thing that people think but it isnt true.

Also, the percentage of asian wholesalers that scam is much much lower than that. It seems so high becuase the only suppliers people on here seem to want are for high end electronics and gaming items.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 04:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
anotheruser
Community Member
 
anotheruser is offline

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 975
iTrader: (1)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Ben, you're talking sense. Welcome back to the land of the living!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 04:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
jas_j_w@yahoo.c
Community Member
 
jas_j_w@yahoo.c is offline

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK, England
Posts: 27
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beneddie1112 View Post
Neither of those comments are true, simply because a supplier accepts just bank transfer does not mean they are a scam, this is a common thing that people think but it isnt true.

Also, the percentage of asian wholesalers that scam is much much lower than that. It seems so high becuase the only suppliers people on here seem to want are for high end electronics and gaming items.

so mate do you know if this site is legit?
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 04:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
joeseph0609
Member
 
joeseph0609 is offline

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Thank you for your comments, but I'm still unsure as to what to do. The site "looks" legit - I've checked the IP ect ect of e:mails sent to me, but whom am I to be sure - no expert I an tell you!

However, as I mentioned, we are a group of single mums and obviously money pennies are paramount - is there any other way (apart from sites like this one) that I can check them out on - eg Indonesian Trade and Industry website, Watchdog or something like that. Sorry to be a pain as you've already been very helpful. I've never bought anything off the internet before and I am beginning to realise why!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 04:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
anotheruser
Community Member
 
anotheruser is offline

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 975
iTrader: (1)
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts

Default

Do any of you own your own business? If so, is she - any she if there is more than one - a member of the Chamber of Commerce? They help exporters more than importers, but they may be sympathetic.

Is there a British consulate in the region of Indonesia this company claims to trade from? Contact the Foreign and Commonwealth Office to find out. Then send them an enquiry. At the very least, our Indonesian Embassy officials will be able to tell you how to check the official Indonesian company records, and whether these records are generally reliable. Even if the company is legitimate, it won't tell you whether they sell legitimate or fake goods.

As member pete has said more than once, WHOIS info is only of limited use and can be blagged anyway. It is certainly no use in proving legitimacy of a business, unless the registration details are obviously wookey.

Thinking it through, Kirsty, unless you are thinking of going into trade on a more permanent basis, you are probably better off just clubbing together and doing a deal with a UK wholesaler as a one-off deal.

Even if this particular supplier turns out to be a good one - and I have serious doubts - you have a long way to go before proving that.

By the time you've found a decent supplier, worked your way through the import regulations, sorted out shipping, duties and VAT you will have passed Christmas for very little if any gain over what you can achieve right here.

Good luck, whichever route you choose.

Mike
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 05:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
PT
Community Moderator
 
PT is offline

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 4,129
iTrader: (20)
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 56 Times in 55 Posts

Default

Kirsty, I would advice you do not deal with this company; they look to be fraudulent. There is no address, phone number, or company details on their website.

If you look at their FAQ page, you will see this:

Quote:
We use fixed shipping cost USD $165 per order, it is mean no matter how much the quantity per order the shipping cost is still same.
No company can ship consoles at a fixed rate, if you order 20 PS3's its going to cost a lot more than $165. It is just not possible, when one PS3 alone weighs 7KG.

Please do not deal with this company, you will be left out of pocket!
__________________
Forum Rules | Advertising Opportunities
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SCAM INDONESIA elisabeth_laurent@yahoo.com marc248 Bad Supplier Experiences 3 12-11-2008 12:56 PM
Hi From Jakarta howard.croft Introduce Yourself 7 27-12-2006 03:50 PM
SGS in Indonesia xdanzx Payment and Shipping Discussion 8 17-11-2005 07:51 PM
Supplier from Jakarta Wilfred Wewer Supplier Discussion 13 13-09-2005 05:44 PM
Paypal and escrow in Indonesia ezh Payment and Shipping Discussion 7 02-07-2005 02:36 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:17 AM.

Control Panel
Member Login:
Quick Navigation
Register
Forum Rules
Advertising Opportunities
Member of the Month
Top Contributors
Contact Us
Advertisement
Member of the Month
TWF - Member of the Month AwardNovember 2008
LewisSellers
Popular Discussions
Recession, hard times?
Pound getting weaker
eBay suspensions galore?
Opening online store
Tips for new members
Useful Articles
Tips for Supplier Checking
Dealing with the Chinese
Sourcing Products Abroad
UK VAT and Import Duties
Approaching Wholesalers
Newsletters
TWF Newsletter - July 08
TWF Newsletter - June 08
TWF Newsletter - Nov 07
Archived Newsletters
Forum Guides
Leaving iTrader Feedback
Reporting a Post
Competitions
Business Article Writing 08
Fantasy Football 2008/9
Resources
The Wholesale Directory
Top  |  Profile  |  Calendar  |  Archive  |  Advertise  |  Contact
Our Network: Wholesale Forums  |  Wholesale Products and Suppliers Directory  |  Wholesale Business Blog and Resources  
Skin Designed by: vBulletinSkinz.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8 | Copyright © 2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Copyright © The Wholesale Forums 2004-2008, All Rights Reserved.