Welcome to The Wholesale Forums!
: :


mobile phone dropshipper found


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes



Posts: 33
Offline

Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback: (0)
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts
can any one tell me if this company is legit they dropship phones www.madgiftsquick.co.uk
#1  
Old 03-05-2005, 09:50 PM

KP



Posts: 102
Offline

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Feedback: (1)
Thanked: 5 Times in 5 Posts
looks dodgy to me

Registrant:
M Morris

Registrant's Address:
c/o 260 viewfield road
tarbrax
EH55 8XF
GB

then look at http://www.fencing101.com/vb/showthread.php?t=16122

search for:

"5 Mr. Morris 260 Viewfield Road, Tarbrax, South Lanarkshire eh55 8xf"

he was part of a scam,

and the phone site was only setup on the 16th march

The site isn't cheap anyway,

2 motorola phones i checked out on carphonewarehouse and they were the same price

Last edited by KP; 03-05-2005 at 10:19 PM.
#2  
Old 03-05-2005, 10:14 PM



Posts: 821
Offline

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Borders, UK
Feedback: (5)
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hi.

Im Mark from MGQuk, and ive just seen this thread.

How is our website Dodgy??

We are no scam, and the site has been running for almost 2 years, and we recently upgraded our site to a os commerce, so its earier for customers to use.

And our drop shipping prices are cheaper than the site prices.

We are also Ebay Power Sellers, with a platnium award, so we aint dodgy
#3  
Old 23-05-2005, 06:33 PM

KP



Posts: 102
Offline

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Feedback: (1)
Thanked: 5 Times in 5 Posts
never said the site was dodgy, over priced but if thats retail price then fair enough,

after researching the domain owner and finding scam information about him/you - then what sort of impression does that make?

can you give any example dropshipper prices? all uk stock or imports?

Also just a quick example: Nokia 6822 @ £182.99 that you sell on ebay, can dropshippers get this cheaper, or even sell at this price?

Last edited by KP; 23-05-2005 at 09:38 PM.
#4  
Old 23-05-2005, 09:26 PM



Posts: 821
Offline

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Borders, UK
Feedback: (5)
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Im only just aware of this scam, its all news to us.

All stock is genuine Uk stock, with 12 months warranty, and is all factory unlocked. Which means its never been on a network before.

And, yes our prices for drop shippers are cheaper than ebay prices.

Mark
#5  
Old 24-05-2005, 08:50 AM



Posts: 3,480
Offline

Join Date: May 2005
Location: 997 turboshire
Feedback: (2)
Thanked: 83 Times in 21 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KP
and the phone site was only setup on the 16th march
Where did that information come from ?

Regarding the site, to be fully legal with your ecommerce site you need to look at your privacy and T&C's as you are leaving yourself wide open regarding data protection act and information holding/exchange.

Also one thing that would drop me right away is the fact that there is NO security certificate present and as such customer details are very open, there is a google security search string that will allow your customer details to be found.. let alone a harvester program/hacker.

Also as you are using osCommerce and have not modified the original template you are also breaking thier T&C's by removing 'powered by osCommerce from the bottom'.

Also an indication of some of the dropshipping prices may entice people to join, ie. prices are x% less for dropshippers.

I am not ridiculing the site as you have taken the jump and actually generated a site which a lot of people do not do but seem intent on criticising others! I would however recommend at least covering the above points and also it may be worthwhile you looking at modifying the stock osC template so that it looks slightly different to the millions of others out there.

The comments are aimed at being more constructive...there are plenty of errors in my sites that can be 'criticised' so just trying to help. In fact I just modified the look of one of my osC sites and the conversion rate went up by 10%, so making the look unique made a difference.

Mike.
#6  
Old 24-05-2005, 11:53 AM

TSG



Posts: 52
Offline

Join Date: Dec 2004
Feedback: (0)
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MustHaveMobiles
Where did that information come from ?
I guess it's from the site itself..

Quote:
14796 requests since Wednesday 16 March, 2005
I don't know oscommerce, but I'm sure that when it was installed.

The domain's been around since 17-Feb-2004
#7  
Old 24-05-2005, 12:48 PM



Posts: 821
Offline

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Borders, UK
Feedback: (5)
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks, and your coments have been taken on board.

But we unfortunitly dont no how to personalise the site, it took us a while just to install the program.
#8  
Old 24-05-2005, 01:14 PM



Posts: 3,480
Offline

Join Date: May 2005
Location: 997 turboshire
Feedback: (2)
Thanked: 83 Times in 21 Posts
Quote:
I guess it's from the site itself..14796 requests since Wednesday 16 March, 2005
And you trust these counters, even if this was true surely the alexa ranking would have been a lot better than it currently sits at? As it happens I do think that the inception date shown is correct, although it is very easy to manipulate this..

Quote:
But we unfortunitly dont no how to personalise the site, it took us a while just to install the program.
Visit the osC support sites and forums, everything that you need is in there. The forums are especially good.

Dont forget to get the SSL to cover your customers details, this has nothing to do with osC and is exceptionally easy to install. Would you give your details to a non secure site ?

Mike
#9  
Old 24-05-2005, 06:03 PM



Posts: 33
Offline

Join Date: Apr 2005
Feedback: (0)
Thanked: 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MustHaveMobiles
And you trust these counters, even if this was true surely the alexa ranking would have been a lot better than it currently sits at? As it happens I do think that the inception date shown is correct, although it is very easy to manipulate this..



Visit the osC support sites and forums, everything that you need is in there. The forums are especially good.

Dont forget to get the SSL to cover your customers details, this has nothing to do with osC and is exceptionally easy to install. Would you give your details to a non secure site ?

Mike
you know what that origanal message i posted has any one used this supplier i decided to take a gamble anyway and guess what it`s a scam
#10  
Old 26-05-2005, 09:23 PM

Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Java Apps: How to Run Them On A Mobile Phone Quad Band Phone Products Discussion 0 17-09-2009 06:21 AM
Looking for mobile phone dropshipper ahouse89 Dropshipping Discussion 7 08-05-2009 10:40 AM
Mobile phone distributors captain_06 Supplier Discussion 23 13-02-2009 01:03 AM
Maxcom Europe Ltd mobile phone offers coming in next week. pablow123 Mobile Phones, Sat Nav/GPS Devices and Communications Accessories 25 04-11-2008 11:42 PM
Maxcom Europe Ltd more mobile phone offers coming in next week. pablow123 Mobile Phones, Sat Nav/GPS Devices and Communications Accessories 0 17-10-2008 04:59 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:20 AM. Fixed Width