Ripped off for £2300

Discussion in 'Bad Supplier Experiences' started by John Smith, Jun 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. John Smith

John Smith

**************************************************************** Hello, I have recently sent £2300 to a company in Pakistan for 25 Ipods by Telex Transfer. I found the company in a directory which claims to check each of its companys by hand and has 100's of listings, which is why I trusted it. I sent the money and recieved no goods or no response from the wholesale company, which was selling a whole load of other stuff besides ipods. The directory has a feedback facility, but when I went to use it, it dosn't work, so this company in Pakistan can carry on trading and I can see that they have had a lot of customers.

This money is all the proffit I've made since I started trading on ebay. Is there anything I can do to get it back. The directory company just tells me to leave feedback it is taking the p***
  2. Martin

Martin

Oh dear, we've already had a lengthy discussion about iPods. I can't suggest any way to get your money back but you should contact the police.

(As far as iPods go, everyone should be aware that Apple don't make a huge profit on these. They sell for £160+ ($299) so the manufacturing price is going to be well over £100. Consequently, if you are offered a "new" iPod for less than £160 you can be fairly sure that it's a scam. Neither Apple nor Apple dealers are selling for less than £160. Even if you are an Apple dealer, buying in bulk, you will be paying about £150 because the dealer profit margin is typically 6%.

So anything less than £160 is NOT the latest iPod model and may even be the very early 10Gb version that uses a plug-top charger instead of a charging "dock" or stand. It could even be a used "refurbished" old model.)
  3. John Smith

John Smith