Dismiss Notice
Have you checked if your business appears in our directory? Add your basic information for FREE!

Click Here to know more!!

If you would like links to source leads, upgrade from £12.50 a month!

Click Here to subscribe!

Some SEO tips for Open Cart

Discussion in 'E-Commerce and Online Selling' started by psxgamer, May 31, 2012.

1. psxgamer

psxgamer

I'm taking a week of, but honestly I'm bored to dead. So here are some SEO tips for Open Cart. They may also work on other carts.

Just wanna make clear I'm no SEO expert. It are just a few things I've been messing around with. It does the trick for me but this won't mean it will do the same for you. It won't cost you a thing, so no reason not to try.

Defining your keywords:
    This is the trick that works best for me. I sell games so I definately want to have a good position in Google when somebody searches on words like gameshop, retrogames, PS3 games,...

So first make a list of your top keywords than you go to:
    System > settings > tab Store > Title

At the beginning in this field I just filled out the name of my gameshop. But you can fill out a lot more. I found out the keywords you place here will get a very good Google Ranking. So I not only put the name of my gameshop but also a whole bunch of keywords like:

NAME OF MY SHOP Online Gameshop Playstation PS1 PS2 PS3 Xbox 360 Nintendo Wii used retro games

Since I've done this it has given me an incredible boost in search results for these keywords and for seach queries that use a combination of these words with others.

Add more keywords by using the welcome module:
    Go to Extentions > Modules > Welcome > install

Now take your list of keywords again and write a short welcoming using all of these keywords. Make sure its a natural looking text